~ To the Runner ; by the Runner ~

dartboard

Do you ever feel that you are running from the Lord? You tell yourself that you need to get back into church, get back into reading the Bible, or get back into your prayer life again.
Failing to accomplish these things cause us to feel as if we are straying away from the righteous path. Sometimes we get uncomfortable with our shortcomings and tell ourselves that we need to get back into the Lord’s presence, because we have been slacking as a Christian. We hear people say that we should be taking steps forward (closer to the Almighty) each and every day, so we feel as if we are walking away from the Lord if we are not taking the steps forward towards the light. What is worse is that we begin to think that we take steps backwards from God’s presence. You know what I mean?

Then, we begin to examine other people’s lives and make a judgement as to whether they are close or far away from the Lord. You know exactly what I am writing about. You see a person’s life through what I am going to call the close-o-meter, which we have created in our Christian culture. This meter determines whether we hang out with the person/group or not. You know it’s true. We keep certain people in our circle, who “build us up” in our walk, and we do the opposite with others. In fact, if you are like me, you make a mental note to pray for the people who fail the close-o-meter so that they can draw closer to the Lord’s presence.

Now, before I continue, I do want to clarify two things: one, we are certainly directed to grow in our relationship/walk with Christ; two, we should not just blindly accept anyone into our inner-circle of trusting friendships. We most definitely need wisdom is those areas, right? These things are worth discussing at a later time.

Understand, my focus is to hash out this concept of running from the Lord. See, in my view and experience, there is this concept among Christians that we can run away from the Lord almighty. It’s as if we are taught that He is in a house (aka Church/Heaven/the Bible) and we are somewhere either near or far away from Him. He’s the bullseye and we are somewhere else on the dart board. Each “level up” in the game comes with some sort of behavior that needs to be accomplished, right? It’s as if we will not find God in a local, downtown bar or anywhere that doesn’t outwardly/vividly profess Christ crucified. We can supposedly only find solid truth (aka God’s presence) in a church service or through a person wearing a T-shirt that has a crucifix on it.

What the Lord has been teaching me is that we cannot run from His presence. In fact, our very being has a piece of God’s spirit within. How cool is that, my friend!?

“For you created my inmost being;
you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
your works are wonderful,
I know that full well.”
~Pslam 139:13-4 (NIV)

Look in the mirror right now and say this out loud, “I have been created by the Almighty, and I have the Holy Spirit living within me!”

The Psalmist, David writes it’s best…

“Where can I go from your Spirit?
Where can I flee from your presence?
If I go up to the Heavens, you are are there;
if I make my bed in the depths, you are there.
If I rise on the wings of the dawn,
if I settle on the far side of the sea,
even there your hand will guide me,
your right hand will hold me fast.
If I say, ‘Surely the darkness will hide me
and the light become night around me,
even the darkness will not be dark to you;
the night will shine like the day,
for darkness is as light to you.”
~Pslam 139: 7-12 (NIV)

This section of the Psalm touches on a golden truth: We cannot hide from God.

I find it very intriguing and refreshing that David recognizes that darkness is light to God.

A proverb enforces this truth…

“The eyes of the Lord are everywhere;
keeping watch on the wicked and the good”
~Proverbs 15:3 (NIV)

Essentially, nothing is hidden from the Lord almighty and His presence can be found in the highest of highs and the lowest of lows. We are the ones that can be fooled because of our limited vision. What we think is good may end up bad. What we think is bad may end up good. The Lord, however, cannot be fooled.

Why? He created the earth and everything within. In fact, He created all things GOOD. We messed it up. Then, He sent His only Son to die upon the cross for our sins, gifting the ultimate helper (aka His Holy Spirit).

So, this leads me to some encouragements. God sees our messy side, which we try to hide. He sees our mistakes and our failures, which we also want to keep to ourselves. He sees our fruitful attempts at glorifying His name. He sees our pride as we seek glorification from people. Our inward motives cannot be hidden from Him. The bottom line is that He CLEARLY sees the Good, Bad, and Ugly of each and every one of us. Soak that in for a minuet.

Are you scared? Are you now nervous? Are you laughing at yourself?

The most beautiful thing about His vision, however, is that He responds with love; a deep and compassionate love that does not increase or decrease, depending upon church attendance, Bible reading, or prayer.

What I am ultimately writing is that God does not keep a tally for His love or presence

Paul highlights this fact with the Roman church…

“You see, at just the right time, when we were still powerless, Christ died for the ungodly. Very rarely will anyone die for a righteous man, though for a good man someone might possibly dare to die. But God demonstrates His own love for us in this; While we were sill sinners, Christ died for us” ~Romans 5:6-8 (NIV)

Then, with His brother in Christ, Timothy…

“For there is one God and one mediator between God and men, the man Christ Jesus”
~ 1 Timothy 2:5 (NIV)


What a beautiful thing to be completely known AND completely Loved!?

See, I (and you as well) have to fall more and more in love with my hero everyday. I (nay! we) don’t know everything about Jesus. As I learn more about Him though, my love only increases; yet, He is already in complete LOVE with us. This is a proven fact.

I mean, if we are honest, we sometimes end relationships as we learn the ugly side of some people. We distance ourselves —-> Bye Felicia! You crae!

The Lord did and does the complete opposite. <3<3

Be encouraged, mi amigo. We cannot run away from Him or His presence. We cannot make Him love us any more or any less than He already does.

I pray that this truth helps brighten your day 🙂

Con todo mi amor ❤

