~ Roar ~

Pride is poison.

It destroys relationships.

It steals purity.

It kills our vision.

The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full” ~ John 10:10 (NIV)
Listen, pride is definitely an enemy that we need to be aware of.

Pride, ultimately, causes us to forget about how the Lord has carried us through life’s messy situations.

We don’t necessarily forget about the darkness we have been through, but we do fail to remember that we did not overcome these battles through our own strength when we become filled with pride.

However, it is interesting to me that society teaches us to be prideful.

It is through our social interactions that we lean to protect reputations for the sake of having a good standing with others individuals. This is especially true with the excessive use of social media now-a-days.

I am not saying it is bad to cover each other’s flaws. This is something we are called to do.

What I am talking about is when we get caught up in maintaining a certain image instead of brining truth to the table …simply because it’s going to cause a disruption of sorts.

Truth: The Bible, or word of God (in which we know is inspired by this loving, caring, joyful, peaceful Holy Spirit), is depicted as a sword.

Interesting to me….What about you?

God’s truth is powerful. When we read it and truly embrace it, the words cause a disruption in the system towards healing and maturity. The truth of God’s word should stir up change in our lives. It should change the way we think and operate compared to those around us who have not been influenced by the Gospel quite yet.

Short Story time! Yay! …One of my favorite things

I call it: The Friend That Got Away

When I was in the military, we were setting up for an important conference. This was something that we did quite often as I was part of the administrative team. Anyways, while setting up for the conference, an Air Force service member was walking by with two big boxes of papers. I imagine these two boxes of reams of paper were for her office. She was noticed by us for two reasons: one, the girl was struggling with carrying the boxes of paper (Sheesh! Who could blame her? They are heavy, friends! They are heavy boxes indeed); and two, she was not the “ideal” physical frame of an Armed Forces service member. Needless to say, she stopped for a break right outside of our hallway window. Grasping this image, immediately, one of my coworkers attempts to prompt the Marine in our group to go and help her out. We all listened in anticipation for his response. He quickly blurted, “No, I am not going to do that. She wanted to try and carry those boxes herself.”

Wow. If only I could go back in time.

I cannot go back in time and redo my shameful response of laughter and compliance, but I am now telling you this story in the hopes that you learn from my mistake.

See, I wanted to go with the flow. I drank the poison of pride and did not step up, because I did not want to place my own reputation on a chopping block of any kind. I mean, let’s be honest, I have no idea who I thought that I was to have such persona to protect; yet, there my was flawed frame of mind.

Can you relate?

Oh, man. I was super naive. We can all be super naive at times.

Pride killed my vision that day. I forgot that, as a highly cherished daughter of the most high, I am called to emulate Jesus’ love to those around me.

My supposed “holy” and Christian-walk received one more stain, since I had broken the most important commandment laid out by Jesus himself. We all know it. Some of us can even recite it in our sleep. (Good job, kids…. Real great job)

We can say it, but we fail to walk it out.

I also lost a friend in her that day because of my pride. Who knows what could’ve happened if I would’ve just crucified  my fleshly pride and made her day by helping her carry those boxes of paper?

Human to human, sister to sister, I failed her. Even more importantly, I failed my Lord by forgetting that He extended a helping hand when I was struggling with the same thing earlier in my career.

All of that being said, I do also want to emphasize a point. It is true that she could’ve also crucified her pride and asked for help with carrying those heavy boxes. The Marine was on to something after all. However, the funny part of his comment is that it was based upon an assumption. We really don’t know if she had asked for help already. At the same time, his idea  could have been very true. She could’ve tried to be a super human by carrying an overloaded amount of paper. The fact remains: I don’t know her side of the story.

It does make me wonder though: Why do we try to be super human sometimes? I’ll tell you why. Pride. Pride causes us to take on MORE THAN WE CAN CARRY. I’ve been there. The result is that I am completely exhausted and become ineffective in ministry, dropping the ball more than once. The struggle is real. Truthfully, there are times when we just need to woman-up (or man-up) and say, “I cannot do this on my own. I need help. Will you help in such and such way?”

So, whether you are the “quiet, out-of-the-spotlight” prideful or the “look-at-me” prideful type of person, we have some humility to embrace. We need to firmly throw away our pride, because it’s garbage.

Pride is poisonous.

Pride destroys relationships.

Pride steals our purity.

Pride kills our vision.

The good news is that we CAN defeat this enemy of ours through the power of the Holy Spirit.

Paul encourages the church of Ephesus, “For it is by grace you have been saved – through faith – and this is not yourselves, it is the gift of God – not by works, so that no one can boast. For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do” ~ Ephesians 2:8-10 (NIV)

James also encourages us, “Humble yourselves before the Lord, and he will lift you up” ~ James 4:10 (NIV)

My prayer is that you are more aware of the enemy: Pride.

Why?! Because…

It is time to take a stand against the enemy, because we have some walking and running to do for the Lord. Amen!

It’s time to stand out from the rest of society and make a difference in someone’s life.

It’s time to let our light so shine for the King’s glory!

It’s time to use the sword we have been given to counteract the lies being thrown around today’s youth.

It’s time to Roar Like A Lion!

Listen, God has so much in store for you and I, if we simply fall before His throne with humility.

Your humanly prideful hermana,

Frances

Be blessed! Be encouraged today

