~ Grace ~

grace.jpg

After the consequences have been laid out by the Lord for Adam and Eve’s disobedience, we find this very interesting gem of a verse, “…The Lord God made garments of skin for Adam and his wife and clothed them” ~ Genesis 3:21 (NIV)

After the consequences have been laid out for Cain’s sin of murdering his brother, Cain responds to the Lord “My punishment is more than I can bear. Today you are driving me from the land, and I will be hidden from your presence. I will be a restless wanderer on the earth, and whoever finds me will kill me.” But the Lord said to Him, “Not so, if anyone kills Cain, he will suffer vengeance seven times over.” Then the Lord put a mark on Cain so that no one who found him would kill him. So Cain went out from the Lord’s presence and lived in the land of Nod, east of Eden” ~Genesis 4: 13-16 (NIV)

These verses, in my opinion, can easily slip away undigested as we consume the very familiar stories of Adam & Eve, and Cain & Abel.

I find it interesting that Adam & Eve, and Cain & Abel interacted with the Lord, yet still blatantly decided to behave in manners they knew were NOT in accordance to God’s direction. Adam & Eve were instructed by the Lord to avoid eating from the Tree of the Knowledge of Good & Evil. They did anyways through being easily deceived. The Lord then basically informed Cain that doing the right thing would result in His acceptance; yet, he did not do the right thing. Instead, His jealously, as most of us know, got the best of him as he ended up murdering His brother.

side note: Cain got jealous of Abel because He wanted what Abel received – the Lord’s favor/acceptance.

You see, both stories reveal people who looked at what they could not/did not have INSTEAD of what the Lord had provided.

Sounds super familiar, right?? We can do that today, right?! I am GUILTY of this.

Now, when we are focusing on things that we do not have instead of the things that the Lord has provided.

1- we are easily persuaded by the enemy’s lies

OR

2- our emotions get the best of us, turning into something destructive

All of that being said, we can find hope in these awkwardly placed verses.

The Lord covers the shameful scars of believing in the enemy’s lies.

Do you agree with me that the enemy’s lies can burn? I testify that I am a living proof victim.

The Lord can make us realize what it’s like without Him, causing us to eventually cry out “Lord, I need your mercy now” …much like Cain did.

Remember, “My sacrifice, O God, is a broken spirit; a broken and contrite heart you, God, will not despise.” ~ Psalm 51:17 (NIV)

I wanted to end with this: These verses, at a first glance, appear to be contradictory. However, I think that the Lord is taking a very strong stance of GRACE in these verses from the book of Genesis.

Do you agree??

Peter writes, “The Lord is not slow in keeping his promise, as some understand slowness. Instead he is patient with you, not wanting anyone to perish, but everyone to come to repentance” ~ 2 Peter 3:9 (NIV)

I love my Hero. That is all…

Let’s focus on what we have been provided by the Lord.

Blessings♥

