~ Finish Strong ~

David writes, “The end of a matter is better than its beginning, and patience is better than pride. Do not be quickly provoked in your spirit, for anger resides in the lap of fools” ~ Ecclesiastes 7:8-9 (NIV)

This verse is interesting to me. It causes me to ask: Why??

After chewing on this piece of wisdom, I believe that the reason that the end of a matter is better than the beginning can be summarized in one word: faithfulness. I believe this is also true with regards to patience versus pride.

I struggle with being disciplined and consistent in my walk with the Lord. Am I alone in this fight?? You know it. I know it…The struggle is REAL.

The bottom-line is that our mistakes are rooted in a lack of faithfulness. EVERYDAY I say, in my mind, that I am going to accomplish such and such things on my to-do list. I sometimes even write the list down for goodness sake! Then, comes the test of life. My grade: a painful, stressed, exhausted, spirit.

Oyi Vey! I really hope that someone else can relate.

How does this connect to the verse? Glad you asked 😉

The truth is that the Lord cares about how we pass the test of Life; the end of the matter. Are we walking out, living out, running out what the Lord is calling us to do?? This involves patience ALL OF THE TIME, right?! This also means we must have a goal before us to reach, to accomplish, to defeat, to conquer. Ladies, we are more than conquerers in Christ Jesus (Romans 1:37). We are “co-heirs with Christ, if indeed we share in His sufferings in order that we may also share in His glory” (Romans 8:17).

Listen, we have a prize awaiting us.

“Blessed is the one who perseveres under trial because, having stood the test, that person will receive the crown of life that the Lord has promised to those who love him”

I want to encourage you, as I remind myself sometimes: the Lord is not through with YOU. Yet, He is faithful (while we are SO unfaithful) & just to complete the good work He has began.

Let us have our mindset upon the finish line.

“Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith. For the joy set before him he endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. Consider him who endured such opposition from sinners, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.” ~ Hebrews 12: 1-3 (NIV)

Let us not disregard the fact that we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses. The Lord has provided everything we need to be faithful & ultimately victorious. Let us not make it go to waste.
finish-strong

