~ Humility ~

feet
No, these creatures ^ are not my feet! …Are ya crae?!
In the book of John, we find… “Jesus knew that the Father had put all things under his power, and that he had come from God and was returning to God; so he got up from the meal, took off his outer clothing, and wrapped a towel around his waist. After that, he poured water into a basin and began to wash his disciples’ feet, drying them with the towel that was wrapped around him” (Jesus proceeds to explain to His disciples that they MUST let Him wash them in order to take part with Him) ~ John 13:3-5 (NIV)

This passage speaks volumes. hmmm… Where to begin??

Can I please just point out that Jesus was completely naked & vulnerable while serving His disciples. Can I also point out that cars were not invented back then, so their feet were probably disgustingly nasty from walking all over the place. I mean, they were considered pioneers. Can I also point out that nail clippers & nail files did not exist quite yet.

Can you picture it, yet?

Eeeek!! Yikes!!

See, the creator of Heaven and Earth chose to serve His disciples in the most humbling way possible. He willingly cleaning the most dirt-filled area on the body; feet.

Lord, what is man that you should be mindful of him???

Now, I personally have never caught the fact that Jesus used his towel to clean their feet when reading through this passage of scripture.

Dwelling upon this passage, we should ask ourselves: What does this say about Jesus? He is weird. He wants to show off His manly figure.

Nah.

I definitely think that a deeper meaning exists. See, I think this passage speaks to the refinement process that happens as we walk with the Lord. I don’t know about you, but the more I learn about Jesus (seeing HIM MORE CLEARLY), the more I realize how dirty I am. The apostles, as is the case with most of humanity, had probably got accustomed to thier nasty feet. Everyone had gross feet, so it is very safe to assume they did not know anything else.

note: The light definitely reveals what is in the darkness.

As we learn these things about ourselves, we can either choose to try and clean our own feet (saying no to Jesus’ offer) OR simply let Jesus clean our feet. The problem with cleaning our own feet is that NOTHING is as powerful & effective as Jesus (Holy Holy is the Lord almighty!). The non-Jesus methods of cleaning our feet only make things WORSE & wayyyyy more dirty.

Have you experienced the same thing in life?

Let us be people who say yes to our Lord’s offer of cleaning our feet. This takes humility and patience. We actually may laugh at ourselves in the process. Let’s face it. Getting our feet cleaned is sometimes ticklish and then sometimes painful.

In fact, let us react as Peter did, “…not just my feet but my hands and my head as well!” (verse 9).

Just as an additional side note: We have cars & nail clippers & nail files now.
Can I get a Hallelujah?!

Seriously, my friends, these modern tools signify the Holy Spirit/Armor of God.

Do you get it?

Blessings♥

Comments are closed.